Cart 0

why pillar?


a letter from our executive director

Thirty years ago, a group of devoted parents aimed to create a better future for their children with disabilities. Their vision became Apple Patch.  

We have since evolved from a handful of founding families to serving more than 300 adults and children with intellectual and developmental disabilities. We have maintained our core purpose of helping people lead lives of personal choice and inclusion, regardless of disability. 

Now we embark on an exciting future. Apple Patch began as a dream of a place – a refuge where adults with disabilities could live independently. But now, to accommodate our evolving services, we realized the organization needed a name that reflected all that we do today. While the original community will continue to be known as Apple Patch, the organization under which it and our other services operate will be known as Pillar.

Why Pillar? We chose the name Pillar to reflect the organizational growth that we’ve experienced since our founding.  Much like a physical pillar, the services we offer support our entire community – from our residential homes to our daily engagement centers and our one-on-one programs. 

Our residential homes will remain Apple Patch residences, and we’re establishing the Apple Patch Endowment Fund. In doing so, we can begin our future as Pillar while keeping the Apple Patch history and spirit alive. 

As always, our ultimate focus is our participants, both current and prospective, and our wish is that you will help us continue to champion them, providing independence and true inclusion in every corner of the community. 

Warm regards, 

Leah Campbell, Executive Director 

Executive Staff

Leah F. Campbell | Attorney at Law
Executive Director

Laura Herberholz
Director of Residential Services

Lissa Pyles
Director of Compliance and Quality Improvement

Linda Romine
Director of Development

Laura Saeed
Director of Human Resources

2018-19 Board of Directors

Benton Keith, Chairman
Nathan Fort, Vice Chairman
Alex Campbell, Treasurer
Ross Jordan, Secretary
Ned Booker
Chona Camomot
Denny Ertel
Joe Kayse
Steve Moss
Bruce Ogle
Toni Ray
Jane Rechter
Michael Trager-Kusman
Charlie Westerfield
Jeremy White
Joy Hanna (Emeritus)
Afaf Shaheen (Emeritus)